# Directory: User deletion: "The user is required by a participant" error

**URL:** <https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/directory-user-deletion-the-user-is-required-by-a-participant-error/515>\
**Category:** Directory Management\
**Created:** [June 14, 2014, 1:37am UTC](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/directory-user-deletion-the-user-is-required-by-a-participant-error/515 "2014-06-14T01:37:55Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![wfg-admin](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex030/user_avatar/discuss.workflowgen.com/wfg-admin/32/714_2.png) [@wfg-admin](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/u/wfg-admin)\
**Post date:** [June 14, 2014, 1:37am UTC](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/directory-user-deletion-the-user-is-required-by-a-participant-error/515/1 "2014-06-14T01:37:55Z")

</div>

When you try to delete a user you may receive the error message `The user is required by a participant.`

It means that this user is the only member of a participant. As such, to avoid process execution issues, WorkflowGen prevents the deletion of this user.

On the user’s profile page, click the **Activity report** link on the top right of the form to see the list of the associated participants. You can check those participants (in active or archived processes) to replace the user with another one.
