# Directory sync: Active Directory: Which user synchronization field to use?

**URL:** <https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/directory-sync-active-directory-which-user-synchronization-field-to-use/508>\
**Category:** Directory Management\
**Created:** [August 15, 2013, 9:43pm UTC](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/directory-sync-active-directory-which-user-synchronization-field-to-use/508 "2013-08-15T21:43:47Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![wfg-admin](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex030/user_avatar/discuss.workflowgen.com/wfg-admin/32/714_2.png) [@wfg-admin](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/u/wfg-admin)\
**Post date:** [August 15, 2013, 9:43pm UTC](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/directory-sync-active-directory-which-user-synchronization-field-to-use/508/1 "2013-08-15T21:43:47Z")

</div>

### Usernames and group names

Sometimes according to the company policy, a username (or a groupname) may change. When a username is renamed, the corresponding user with the previous username in WorkflowGen will be deleted or archived and a new user will be created with the new username.

### System identifier

The System identifier (SID) provides a unique identifier that doesn’t change. It seems to be the perfect synchronization key, but sometimes directory administrators have to delete and recreate a user account with the same username. In this case, the SID value is changed.

When a user is deleted and then re-created in Active Directory, the user in WorkflowGen is deleted or archived and a new user is created.

Both solutions have advantages and disadvantages that you have to evaluate to define your synchronization keys.
