# Data locked and unlock process

**URL:** <https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/data-locked-and-unlock-process/1714>\
**Category:** Development\
**Created:** [October 21, 2020, 10:05am UTC](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/data-locked-and-unlock-process/1714 "2020-10-21T10:05:57Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![nlevrat](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/n/ec9cab/32.png) [@nlevrat](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/u/nlevrat)\
**Post date:** [October 21, 2020, 10:05am UTC](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/data-locked-and-unlock-process/1714/1 "2020-10-21T10:05:57Z")

</div>

I would like to understand the process of data locked to explain to users how to leave a request without to lock it.  
To give enough time to people to read documents and attached files before to approve a request the lock time has been set to 30 minutes.  
However from time to time user open a request and leave, but the request stay locked.

If I have well understood, as soon has a user open an action, some data as the Form Data are locked and released when they click on Send or Draft Button.  
a - When I open the standard follow form. Does it lock data?  
b - When I open an action and do nothing, does it lock data?  
c - When I open an action and check a field or the content of a list, but do no changes, does it lock data? All data?  
d - When I click on send or draft button, does it always unlock all data ?  
If without to click on send or draft button, what happen for cases a to c if  
1 - I use the back arrow of my browser to leave the request  
2 - I close the current tab  
3 - I close my browser  
4 - I stop my PC.  
What is the best way if I do some change and before to click on Send I want to cancel all my changes and come back to initial status as it was when I have opened the action.

.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kevin.lee](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/65b543/32.png) [@kevin.lee](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/u/kevin.lee)\
**Post date:** [November 18, 2020, 5:32pm UTC](https://discuss.workflowgen.com/t/data-locked-and-unlock-process/1714/2 "2020-11-18T17:32:50Z")

</div>

Even a user open an action and leave it open, after the default data lock time period expires the action for this user should be released.  
General rule a WFG action/form will be locked if there is a parallel action that has reference to 1 or more process data as OUT parameters, i.e. if action A is set to update process data X while a parallel action B also consume process data X, this will lead to a potential data conflict and hence WFG will lock the operation of the action if there is already one happening. So for webform it will always be the case because FORM\_DATA is already 1 modifiable data for any eformASPX action  
so to your question:  
a - no  
b - yes because you are still consuming the process data when opening an action even doing nothing  
c - yes same as b  
d - yes when submitting an action that’s when WFG is notified that the data update is completed and to unlock  
a to c  
1- I think it still will locked because as long as an action is launched WFG locks the data. So browser back button does not signal WFG to unlock it  
2- same as 1  
3- same as 1  
4- same as 1

If you are not dealing with a lot of parallel actions you an consider using the implementation of COPY\_DATA and MERGE\_DATA built in application in WorkflowGen to split form data allowing true concurrent operation without worrying data locking
